Skip to main content

College faculty, students shine at 2017 state conference

Several WVU CPASS faculty and students received awards at the 2017 WVHAPERD Conference in Shepherdstown, WV on October 26.

Eloise Elliott, Ware Distinguished Professor, received the first Dana Brooks Mentor Award. As the recipient, Elliott demonstrated excellence while serving as a mentor to health and physical activity professionals, students and others in fields that promote healthy lifestyles.

Elliott has worked in the area of children's physical activity and physical education for more than 35 years. In her current role, she leads service initiatives to improve the health and well-being of the citizens of West Virginia. Elliott serves on the clinical advisory board of the WV Governor’s Healthy Lifestyles Coalition and was recently appointed to chair the President’s Council on Fitness, Sports, and Nutrition Science board.

Andrea Taliaferro earned the Recreation/Leisure Leadership Award exhibiting outstanding and creative leadership in the recreation profession and for her innovation as an educator at the university level. WVAHPERD recognized Taliaferro for recreation leadership as illustrated by having delivered presentations, workshops and conferences in the various areas of recreation and leisure.

Natasha Ademakinwa received the Ethnic Minority Graduate Fellowship Award for outstanding achievement and service to the profession as a graduate student. The award recognized Ademakinwa as having performed with distinction at WVU CPASS, while considering course work, extracurricular activities, commitment to the profession and promise for success in a related career.

Brooke Towner earned the Bea N. Orr Student Award, upon recommendation by CPASS. Towner exhibited outstanding achievement and service in the areas of health and physical education as a student, upon recommendation by CPASS. WVAHPERD recognized Towner for scholarship, service to the profession and teaching in the areas of health and physical education. 

Lorri Lipscomb, PETE program graduate and the adapted physical education teacher in Monongalia County, won the Adapted Physical Education Teacher of the Year award.

Congratulations to WVU CPASS students, faculty and alumni who successfully exemplify leadership at the state level.

    Share this story 
  • LinkedIn logo