Skip to main content

Office of Student Success staff member honored for advising excellence

Killeen Schlegel, program assistant, CPASS Office of Student Success, is one of four WVU academic advisers honored with the Nicholas Evans Award for Excellence in Advising. This annual award, established by the Office of the Provost, is given in honor of Dr. Nicholas Evans, a lifelong proponent of the importance of undergraduate advising at WVU. Each year two faculty and two staff are recognized for their work advising and mentoring students. 

Schlegel was nominated by 10 co-workers, supervisors and students. Sean Bulger, supervisor for the CPASS Office of Student Success, wrote, “Students characterize Killeen as well-informed, organized, personable, proactive, enthusiastic and knowledgeable. The faculty say that she is highly sought out by students based on the reputation for excellence that she has established.” A student wrote, “I can be a difficult student sometimes, but Killeen never gives up or loses spirit.  She has also been a crucial piece of the puzzle to getting me on the correct track to graduation.”

The additional recipients for 2017-18 are: Dana Huebert-Lima, teaching assistant professor in Biology, Eberly College of Arts and Sciences; Lawrence Iorio, developmental advising specialist, College of Business and Economics; and John Zondlo, professor, Chemical Engineering, Benjamin M. Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources. Visit the link for full story.

The Nicholas Evans Advising Award recipients will be recognized by President Gordon Gee and Provost Joyce McConnell at Blaney House. Each will also receive $1,250 in professional development support.

    Share this story 
  • LinkedIn logo